Patient Centered Medical Home
Secure Messaging
Important Phone Numbers


915-742-2121(Information Desk)

WBAMC Directory

Internal Medicine Residency Program


The WBAMC Internal Medicine (IM) Residency is a three-year training program leading to eligibility for board certification in Internal Medicine. A typical residency class consists of 6-8 Army residents and 2-3 civilian (US citizen) residents sponsored by the Veteran’s Administration for a total of 25-30 total residents training during any given training year. First year residents are often referred to as PGY-1s. Alternatively residents may be referred to by their year of training – Post Graduate Year 1 (PGY-1), Post-Graduate Year 2 (PGY-2), and Post-Graduate Year 3 (PGY-3). To confuse things further, sometimes the residents are also referred to as R1, R2, or R3 to again designate their years of training and a fully trained physician in Internal medicine is called an “internist”.